Pages

Book Review: Beautiful Broken Mess



Beautiful Broken Mess (Broken #2) by Kimberly Lauren: When life's always been a mess, can you still turn it into something beautiful?

Jace Riley’s close connection with his identical twin brother, Jaxon, is put to the test when he tries to choose between keeping his promises and following his heart. Is this girl that still haunts his dreams, even after four years, really worth it? Jace can’t help but wonder if he made a huge mistake all that time ago when he let her walk into someone else’s arms, especially since that someone was his twin.

Audrey Mills often wonders at what point she should throw her hands up in defeat and allow all of the horrible circumstances of her life to overtake her. Despite the demons she has faced, however, something inside her won’t give in. When she leaves her small town in Texas to attend college in California, Audrey runs into the one guy who could make her or break her. But is the past they share too painful for them to overcome?

This is the second book in the broken series. While each book can stand on its own, it's recommended you read Beautiful Broken Rules before Beautiful Broken Mess.


TeriLyn's thoughts: I really enjoyed BBM. BBR is one of my favorite NA reads of the year so I have been really looking forward to this second installment. It did not disappoint. All of our favorite characters are back in BBM and they're just as fantastic. With the addition of Audrey and Lane the gang grows and Audrey's assimilation into the crew is effortless and natural. We learn a lot about Audrey that we didn't get in BBR. It was so easy to despise her in book one, BBM will blow you away when we finally get Audrey's side of her and the Riley boys sordid past. Her and Jace's love story is nothing short of tragic.

Audrey comes from a very broken past; her own history is tragic in and of itself. Her perseverance and strength as a woman is astounding. She'll stop at nothing to be a solid, independent woman. I really liked her character a lot. Jace is where my issue comes in. I thought he'd be more confident and forthright in his decisions and I was looking for him to less confused. Jace screws up a lot throughout their relationship but the make-ups are very sweet and will make you swoon. Their story is a sweet roller coaster ride of emotions. 

Jace's relationship with his friends and especially with Jaxon is explored. As well as Audrey's with Em and Quinn. We also get plenty of Jax and Em and Cole and Quinn to see the progression of those relationships and how Audrey fits in. Fans of Jaxon and Emerson, like myself, are in for some great surprises. I was so impressed how the author managed to give us so much insight into these two secondary relationships while also developing Jace and Audrey's. Lane's character is great too and I look forward to reading book three to figure out all his secrets. The banter between him and Jace was really funny. BBM is well written and flows seamlessly with the dual POV's. The last 25-30% of the book I devoured it got so good. The epilogue was fantastic; an awesome second book.








Follow on Bloglovin

Lori L. Clark

She Reads New Adult Admin: Lori L. Clark

No comments:

Post a Comment