Pages

Book Review: The Weight of Blood





The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh: For fans of Gillian Flynn and Daniel Woodrell, a dark, gripping debut novel of literary suspense about two mysterious disappearances, a generation apart, and the meaning of family-the sacrifices we make, the secrets we keep, and the lengths we will go to protect the ones we love.

The Dane family's roots tangle deep in the Ozark Mountain town of Henbane, but that doesn't keep sixteen-year-old Lucy Dane from being treated like an outsider. Folks still whisper about her mother, a bewitching young stranger who inspired local myths when she vanished years ago. When one of Lucy's few friends, slow-minded Cheri, is found murdered, Lucy feels haunted by the two lost girls-the mother she never knew and the friend she couldn't protect. Everything changes when Lucy stumbles across Cheri's necklace in an abandoned trailer and finds herself drawn into a search for answers. What Lucy discovers makes it impossible to ignore the suspicion cast on her own kin. More alarming, she suspects Cheri's death could be linked to her mother's disappearance, and the connection between the two puts Lucy at risk of losing everything. In a place where the bonds of blood weigh heavy, Lucy must decide where her allegiances lie.

Lori's thoughts: First of all, being born in Iowa and now living in Missouri, it's kind of nice to read a book that takes place in the Midwest for a change. I read a sample of this book after seeing it in y e-reader newsletter, and I was hooked. I stopped reading the book I had been reading and bought this one to read instead. The writing is superb and it's hard to imagine that it is by a debut author.

The setting and the people are rich and colorful and I found myself totally immersed in every part of the book. So much so that I had a hard time putting it down. The story line was intriguing and I am looking forward to more work by this author in the future. If you like a good mystery with interesting characters and not your typical setting, I highly recommend you get this book and set aside a few hours one rainy afternoon and immerse yourself in the gorgeous writing. You won't regret it!









Follow on Bloglovin

Lori L. Clark

She Reads New Adult Admin: Lori L. Clark

No comments:

Post a Comment