Pages

Book Review: Blue Notes





Blue Notes by Carrie Lofty: For fans of Jamie McGuire and S.C. Stephens, a sizzling new adult novel featuring the tumultuous relationship between a young piano prodigy and a reluctant billionaire playboy—set against the vibrant backdrop of a New Orleans college campus.

After being bounced from foster family to foster family, Keeley, a talented pianist, is ready to start over as a junior at Tulane. But when she plays a small concert that attracts the attention of Jude, a brooding playboy and heir to an enormous fortune in the wake of his parents’ tragic death, suddenly Keeley’s life is thrown off balance once again.

Jude is the first person to confront her about the pain behind her music, and she struggles with whether or not to let him into her life, or to keep protecting herself from the hurt that relationships have caused her in the past. But Keeley’s about to learn that the melancholy young billionaire who appears to have everything he wants can open her eyes to exactly what she needs…

I received an advanced copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Blue Notes is a stand-alone, NA, contemporary novel and the first I have read by Carrie Lofty. I had no idea what to expect going into this book, and was surprised at how much I loved it. This is the story of Keeley, a 21 year old, piano prodigy, beginning her junior year in college as a transfer student at Tulane University in New Orleans, LA. This is definitely a love story, and a steamy one at that. But, it is also a story of a young girl, overcoming a ton of baggage and finding herself. I thoroughly enjoyed the love story and the toe-tingling that came with it. However, the growth and development of Keeley was what made the biggest impression on me. I love to read a strong female lead. It feels like we get so little of that lately. Keeley starts off as the young, awkward, weak character, which made me a little disappointed in the beginning. She ends up as the strong woman that I wanted her to be…not dependent on a man for her self-worth and strength, but standing on her own two feet, facing the world and what it throws at her. She’s afraid, but she is brave. I loved her.

Ms. Lofty did a fantastic job of showing how moving music can be, both for the musician and the listener. I could feel the passion seeping from the page as I read the sections where Keeley was composing. “For once, while composing, I’m not insensate and possessed. I’m telling tales about being scared and in pain. About being lonely. About rain drenched nights and being welcomed into a shelter from the storm. I’m crying with parts of my soul, and screaming, and shaking from fears that I’ll never be able to say with words. Who needs words when eighty-eight keys are more eloquent and far more beautiful?” I can almost hear the music drifting off the pages throughout this book, and I loved the way music was utilized.

I really loved the interactions between Keeley and her roommate, Janissa, and especially her mentee, Adelaide. Complete opposites, the way Keeley and Adelaide were able to help each other become better musicians was so sweet to watch. It was moving to watch the different characters overcome grief and/or the things that life had pounded them with and learn to trust others…and to trust themselves in some cases.

Overall, this was a really good read. There were some intense scenes and some beautifully worded scenes. There were some sad times and some happy times. There was weakness, growth, conquering of fears, and maturing, pretty much everything you could ask for with some steamy, tension filled scenes on top. Give it a try.







Follow on Bloglovin

Lori L. Clark

She Reads New Adult Admin: Lori L. Clark

No comments:

Post a Comment