Pages

Book Review: Owning Violet





Owning Violet (The Fowler Sisters #1) by Monica Murphy: New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy begins a sexy new contemporary romance series—perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase—that introduces three sisters born to wealth, raised to succeed, ready to love, destined to make waves.

I’ve moved through life doing what’s expected of me. I’m the middle daughter, the dutiful daughter. The one who braved a vicious attack and survived. The one who devoted herself to her family’s business empire. The one who met an ambitious man and fell in love. We were going to run Fleur Cosmetics together, Zachary and I.

Until he got a promotion and left me in the dust. Maybe it’s for the best, between his disloyalty and his wandering eye. But another man was waiting for me. Wanting me. He too has an overwhelming thirst for success, just like Zachary—perhaps even more so. He’s also ruthless. And mysterious. I know nothing about Ryder McKay beyond that he makes me feel things I’ve never felt before.

One stolen moment, a kiss, a touch . . . and I’m hooked. Ryder’s like a powerful drug, and I’m an addict who doesn’t want to be cured. He tells me his intentions aren’t pure, and I believe him. For once, I don’t care. I’m willing to risk everything just to be with him. Including my heart. My soul.

My everything.

TeriLyn's thoughts: **Owning Violet generously provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.**

I finished Owning Violet last week and I’vebeen contemplating my review since. I’m big fan of this author’s Drew + Fableseries so I my excitement for her journey into erotic was definitely there.Unfortunately, the story of Violet and Ryder fell a bit flat for my tastes.

The plot intrigued me, it had manipulations working beneath the surface –almost Cruel Intentions’ish – that I really like. The execution however justdidn’t work. Despite the raw passion between the two characters which I reallydid enjoy, I never connected with Violet or understood her motivations. She wasa demure heroine then became fierce in an instant. She was zero to sixty withno transition period in between. The dark and dangerous hero Ryder McKay had alot going for him and I felt I connected more with his character than Violet’s.The story boasts a lot of push/pull and anticipation that became redundant asdid some of the repetitive language the author chose. The betrayal andmanipulations are what really kept me skimming through the story, without themI may have not have finished.

As I stated, Owning Violet had potential for methat was never fully realized. It wasn’t what I was expecting. The story ofRyder and Violet just wasn’t a story for me.







Follow on Bloglovin

Lori L. Clark

She Reads New Adult Admin: Lori L. Clark

No comments:

Post a Comment