Pages

Book Review: A Small Indiscretion





A Small Indiscretion: A Novel by Jan Ellison: For readers of Meg Wolitzer, Elizabeth Strout, and Anna Quindlen, A Small Indiscretion is a gripping and ultimately redemptive novel of love and its dangers, marriage and its secrets, youth and its treacherous mistakes.

A Small Indiscretion fixes an unflinching eye on the power of desire and the danger of obsession as it unfolds the story of one woman’s reckoning with a youthful mistake.

At nineteen, Annie Black trades a bleak future in her washed-out hometown for a London winter of drinking to oblivion and yearning for deliverance. Some two decades later, she is married to a good man and settled in San Francisco, with a son and two daughters and a successful career designing artistic interior lights. One June morning, a photograph arrives in her mailbox, igniting an old longing and setting off a chain of events that rock the foundations of her marriage and threaten to overturn her family’s hard-won happiness.

The novel moves back and forth across time between San Francisco in the present and that distant winter in Europe. The two worlds converge and explode when the adult Annie returns to London seeking answers, her indiscretions come to light, and the phone rings with shocking news about her son. Now Annie must fight to save her family by piecing together the mystery of her past—the fateful collision of liberation and abandon and sexual desire that drew an invisible map of her future.

A Small Indiscretion is a riveting debut novel about a woman’s search for understanding and forgiveness, a taut exploration of a modern marriage, and of love—the kind that destroys, and the kind that redeems.

Lori's thoughts: **ARC graciously provided by NetGalley and Random House in exchange for an honest review**

If you are looking for a quick read filled with action and page turning exciting drama ... this is probably not the book for you. However. If you are seeking a book that is extremely well written with prose that pulls you into the story as though you are there, experiencing it along side the characters, then you really should consider reading A Small Indiscretion. I loved the author's nearly lyrical writing. I felt so caught up in the story that it stayed with me for days after I read the last word.

Many times throughout the book, I envied Annie Black and her devil-may-care attitude and freedom. I wanted to be there with her in the pubs of London. Other times, I nodded my head along while reading, because of similar situations I've found myself in along life's highway. Then there were times when didn't envy her at all and would have loathed to be in her shoes. There's a bit of a twist that I didn't see coming. There's a bit of a twist that I did figure out. But, either way, I am so glad that I read this book! I can't wait for Jan Ellison to write more books for me to read.

A slow, easy, burning five heart read!







Follow on Bloglovin

Lori L. Clark

She Reads New Adult Admin: Lori L. Clark

No comments:

Post a Comment