Book Review: The Five Stages of Falling in Love

The Five Stages of Falling in Love
by Rachel Higginson

The Five Stages of Falling in Love is a Contemporary Romance.
Elizabeth Carlson is living in the pits of hell- also known as grief.

Her husband of eight years, the father of her four children and the love of her life, died from cancer. Grady's prognosis was grim, even from the start, but Liz never gave up hope he would survive. How could she, when he was everything to her?

Six months later, she is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life and get the kids to school on time. Both seem impossible. Everything seems impossible these days.

When Ben Tyler moves in next door, she is drowning in sorrow and pain, her children are acting out, and the house is falling apart. She has no time for curious new friends or unwanted help, but Ben gives her both. And he doesn't just want to help her with yard work or cleaning the gutters. Ben wants more from Liz. More than she's capable of ever giving again.

As Liz mourns her dead husband and works her way through the five stages of grief, she finds there's more of her heart to give than she thought possible. And as new love takes hold, she peels away the guilt and heartache, and discovers there's more to life than death.

TeriLyn's thoughts: My first Rachel Higginson story and certainly not my last - The Five Stages of Falling in Love hails as a charming story about devastating loss, heartbreak, and learning to love all over again.

Written solely from the point of view of Liz Carlson - broken widow, relatable mother of four - we feel a connection to her life almost immediately. As the book opens we understand her once in a lifetime love and how much she's lost. We see her barely getting through the day slowly evolving through the five stages of grief as Ben Tyler enters her life and irrevocably changes it.

Ben Tyler. The hero. The savior. If there were more Ben Tyler's walking this earth the world would be a much safer, brighter place. He does the right things, he says the right things, and he wiggles his way so subtlety into the lives of hurting Carlson family the reader can't help but fall in love right along with Liz and her children. Ben gives so easily. He recognizes in Liz what we learned Grady wanted for her after he was gone. He's not an alpha, not a bad boy, nothing even remotely but what Higginson portrays him to be - a really great man with a lot of love to give in exchange for the light Liz innately shines.

As the ghost of Liz's deceased husband plays an important role in the story we move through the five stages of grief with Liz as Higginson shows us that the ideas behind these 5 stages can perfectly align with falling in love. Liz doesn't want to fall in love or move on and we live it right along with her as it happens anyway - to the benefit of her family, her grief, and her life. And much to the delight of the reader as we feel what she feels so naturally.

I picked this up on a whim after being introduced to this author from her latest release and I'm so glad I did. It felt comforting to me in an odd way because through this author's poignantly real, honest and even at times amusing dialogue between characters and Liz's inner monologue Rachel Higginson gave me a continual feeling of security and strength in the belief that life moves on whether we want it to or not. Her meaningful words and excellent writing took me on an easy-to-read and heartfelt journey through The Five Stages of Falling in Love.

Follow on Bloglovin

Lori L. Clark

She Reads New Adult Admin: Lori L. Clark

No comments:

Post a Comment